Free Assessment

Federal Skilled Trades Class Program

Federal Skilled Trades Class

Canada welcomes people of all skill levels under their various immigration programs yearly in order to ensure that all gaps in the Canadian workforce are filled by qualified foreign nationals. The Federal Skilled Trades Class (FSTC) is for people who want to become permanent residents of Canada based on necessary skills and experience in a trade occupation.

FSTC Applicants receive a pass or fail score, based on the following requirements:

Work Experience

Applicant have accumulated at least two years of full-time work experience (or the equivalent in part-time work experience) in the skilled trade during the five previous years.

Skilled work experience eligible for the Federal Skilled Trades Class fall into the following general Skilled Trades categories of the NOC:

  • Major Group 72: industrial, electrical and construction trades,
  • Major Group 73: maintenance and equipment operation trades,
  • Major Group 82: supervisors and technical jobs in natural resources, agriculture and related production,
  • Major Group 92: processing, manufacturing and utilities supervisors and central control operators,
  • Minor Group 632: chefs and cooks, and
  • Minor Group 633: butchers and bakers.

Language Proficiency

Reach a minimum of Canadian Language Benchmark (CLB) level 4 on an approved English or French language test.


A minimum of a Canadian high school diploma or the equivalent in foreign education.

Employment Offer

have offers of employment from up to two employers in Canada of at least one year duration OR a Certificate of Qualification* from a provincial or territorial body

Residence in Canada

Must intend to live outside of the province of Quebec.

Generally, FSTC candidates may have lower CRS scores than candidates in the two other Express Entry program — Federal Skilled Worker Class (FSWC) and Canadian Experience Class (CEC) — because they are not required to prove their level of education to enter the pool.